Iowa Forensic League State Tournament

2022 — NSDA Campus, IA/US

Voting: Senior and Coach of the Year, and Executive Committee

Senior of the Year

The coaching staff of a school can nominate up to two outstanding seniors from their program for consideration as Senior of the Year. Coaching staffs should coordinate their nominations as we can only consider two per team. Submit a nomination detailing the senior’s accomplishments, community service, and other positive characteristics that merit recognition.



Coach of the Year

Any community member may nominate a coach from an Iowa speech and debate program for the Coach of the Year award. Nominees must be head or assistant coaches for Iowa teams. Nominations can come from students or adults. We encourage students to get involved in the process; please share information about the nominating process with them.



Executive Committee Nominations

Coaches may self-nominate to serve on the IHSFL Executive Committee. Committee members serve two-year terms, and are responsible for planning and executing the IFL State Tournament as well as any other activities they deem worthy. If you are interested in serving, send your nomination and include a brief statement telling the membership about yourself and why you want to serve on the committee. The following officers’ seats are up for election this year:


Jeremy Fitzpatrick (Johnston)

Warren Sprouse (Cedar Rapids Washington)

Maggie Rietz (Davenport West)




All nominations should be e-mailed to Dave McGinnis by noon on Monday, February 28. The committee will compile the nominations to send out to schools along with a ballot link the following day. Voting will be open on the morning of Tuesday, March 1 and close at noon on Thursday March 3.