Apple Valley MinneApple Debate

2016 — Minneapolis, MN/US

The 31st Annual    

MinneApple Debate Tournament 
November 4-5, 2016

Sponsored by the Apple Valley High School Forensics Team, Parent Boosters, and American Legion Post 1776   

On behalf of the Apple Valley Forensics Team, Parent Boosters, and the Apple Valley American Legion Post 1776, we would like to invite you and your team to attend the 31st annual MinneApple Debate Tournament on November 4th and 5th. Last year, over 1,000 competitors, coaches, and judges from over 70 schools and 16 states joined us. The MinneApple is proud to offer Lincoln Douglas DebatePublic Forum Debate, and Congressional Debate. Our commitment to providing an efficient tournament with great hospitality, strong competition, and superior judging has made it one of the largest debate tournaments in the nation. Our Lincoln Douglas Debate and Public Forum tab room will be led by Greg Malis and Chris Palmer.  PJ Samorian and Adam Jacobi will lead our Congressional Debate tab room.  We would be honored to have you be a part of this event.  

The MinneApple is a Tournament of Champions qualifier at the OCTAFINAL level in LD, the OCTAFINAL level in Public Forum, and for the TOP SIX competitors in Congressional Debate. We offer three divisions of LD and varsity and novice divisions in Public Forum and an open division of Congressional Debate. In addition we will also be offering the 3rd Annual MinneApple Round Robin in Varsity LD Debate to be held Sunday, November 6th. We offer mutual judge preference in varsity LD debate.  

Our awards will once again feature the red marble apple.  This year, Varsity LD will have six prelimary rounds.  All students with 4-2 records will be eligible to compete in partial triple octafinals.  Students, coaches, and judges  will be provided with a complementary Friday dinner and Saturday lunch. 

We look forward to seeing you at the MinneApple!


Rick Brundage

Director of Debate

Chris Theis

Head Lincoln Douglas Debate Coach

Pam Cady Wycoff

Tournament Director Emeritus 

Colin Goodson

Administrative Director