JW Patterson Invitational

2020 — Classrooms.Cloud, OK/US

The Doug Duke Award

The Doug Duke Outstanding Debate Coach Award


The JW Patterson Invitational is proud to offer this annual award in honor of the late Doug Duke, longtime Director of Debate at the University of Central Oklahoma.  Coach Duke was instrumental in promoting high school debate in Oklahoma during his career as a collegiate coach. His success as a coach, teacher, debate advocate, and mentor to so many students will never be matched.  We will be accepting nominations for this award, and a committee has been established for the selection process. 

The nominees should be a debate coach who has had success coaching debate, knows the importance of family, is a promoter of debate education, and who, like Coach Duke, loves this activity with all their heart.  Please email me (bgaston@heritagehall.com) any coaches you would like to nominate. You should write a few words explaining why you are nominating the candidate. If you have any other questions, please email me.

 Past Winners:

2019 Christina Phillips, Notre Dame HS

2018 Martin Glendinning, Edmond North HS

2017 Greg Malis, Isidore Newman School

2016 Rosie Valdez Block, Little Rock Central HS

2015 Brit McCabe, Edmond Santa Fe HS

2014 Greg Hartney, Jenks HS

2013 Michael Patterson, Guymon HS

2012 Glenda Ferguson, Coppell HS

2011 Linda Collier, The Barstow School