Abington Cup Collegiate Debate Tournament

2018 — Beebe, AR/US

February 1, 2018

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the Vanguard Debate Society, I am excited to invite your program to the campus of Arkansas State University – Beebe February 9-11, 2018 for the Abington Cup Collegiate Debate Tournament.


Named in honor of W. H. Abington, a public servant whos time in the Arkansas Legislature was committed to advancing some of the most progressive investments in higher education in the states history including the chartering of the Junior Agricultural College of Central Arkansas (today ASU Beebe), the tournament will feature educational competition centered on advancing public discourse.


The tournament will be open to any interested collegiate debate program seeking competition in public debate (IPDA) and/or congressional debate (NSDA); offering sweepstakes awards in University (four-year) and Community College (two year) divisions.


The Abington Cup Tournament is a sanctioned tournament under the International Public Debate Association (IPDA), where competitors and programs will earn IPDA National Season Long points in competition for respective national awards.


With the combined offering of NSDA congressional debate and both team and individual IPDA debate, the tournament will feature four (4) preliminary rounds of TIPDA, six (6) preliminary rounds of IPDA, and two (2) preliminary sessions of congressional debate. Students tripled entered in TIPDA, IPDA, and congressional debate will qualify for an individual Abington Cup sweepstakes award.


The tournament will be tabulated using TRPC by Jim Evans of UAM. All entries should emailed to evans@uamont.edu; while ccing zatucker@asub.edu.


The tournament will be headquartered in Dr. Eugene McKay Student Center (610 N Pecan Street Beebe, AR 72023); where registration, debate prep, and tabulation will be hosted.


We hope to offer you a fun and educational weekend of public debate competition.


Yours for better discourse,



Zackery Tucker

Vanguard Debate Society, Director

Arkansas State University – Beebe