Tarheel Forensic League State Championship

2024 — Fayetteville, NC/US

Thank you for attending the 2024 State Championship.

On behalf of the TFL Executive Committee, we are honored that you chose to participate this year and hope that your entire delegation enjoyed themselves.

Please help us in congratulation your 2024 State Champions:

In JV Congressional Debate, Selah Simpson from Asheville HS

In Congressional Debate, Samiksha Pyndi from Ardrey Kell HS

In JV Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Alex Liu, Patrick Liu, Anjali Narahari & Rehan Mahmood from Cary Academy

In Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Holly Carey & Emma Monroe from Myers Park HS

In JV Public Forum Debate, Daphne DiFrancesco & Raya Jung from Cary Academy

In Public Forum Debate, Jack Vail & Caleb Chen and William Brown & Ben Hodges from Durham Academy

In Declamation, Holden Lim from Cary Academy

In Dramatic Interpretation, Tessa Fulcher from Myers Park HS

In Duo Interpretation, Elena Burtis & Simone Valkov from Cuthbertson HS

In Extemporaneous Speaking, Kajal Parmar from Cary Academy

In Humorous Interpretation, Hadley Lord from Myers Park HS

In Impromptu Speaking, Connor Ennis from Durham Academy

In Informative Speaking, Hailey Zhang from Cary Academy

In Original Oratory, Max Tendler from Durham Academy

In Program Oral Interpretation, Kainda Nzinga from Cary Academy


Congratulations to winners of the Steven Davis Award of Excellence in Debate:
- In Third Place, Myers Park HS
- In Second Place, Durham Academy
- In First Place, Ardrey Kell HS

Congratulations to winners of the Kurt Earnest Award of Excellence in Speech:
- In Third Place, Cuthbertson HS
- In Second Place, Durham Academy
- In First Place, Cary Academy

Congratulations to the winners of the Randal Shaver Small School Sweepstakes:
- In Third Place, Chase HS
- In Second Place, Pinecrest HS
- In First Place, North Mecklenburg HS

Congratulations to the winners of the Governor's Cup:
- In Fifth Place, Cuthbertson HS
- In Fourth Place, Ardrey Kell HS
- In Third Place, Myers Park HS
- In Second Place, Durham Academy
- In First Place, Cary Academy

Click here to view calculations for the 2024 Sweepstakes

Special Awards of Recognition

Congratulations to the following winners:

- 2024 TFL Administrative Excellence Award: Chad Barbour from Cumberland Polytechnic HS
- 2024 TFL Assistant Coach of the Year Award: Madison Boswell from Cumberland Polytechnic HS
- 2024 Mildred Hussey Coach of the Year Award: Keith Pittman from Asheville HS

- 2024 John Woolen/ Tarheel Forensic League Student of the Year: Isaac Barsoum from North Mecklenburg HS
- 2024 Jackie Foote Award of Excellence in Congressional Debate: Griffin Hire from Massey Hill Classical HS



In order to file a protest, please fill out this form.

Applicable Rule Manuals at the TFL State Tournament:

2023-2024 NSDA Unified Manual

Fall 2022 NCFL Bylaws

2024 TFL State Tournament Manual



The Tarheel Forensic League (TFL) is committed to providing participants, judges, coaches, and volunteers the opportunity to pursue excellence in their endeavors. This opportunity can exist only

when each member of our community is assured an atmosphere of mutual respect.

The TFL prohibits all forms of harassment and discrimination. Accordingly, all forms of harassment and discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, marital status, citizenship, national origin, age, disability, genetic information, or any other characteristic protected by any applicable federal, state, or local law are prohibited, whether

committed by participants, judges, coaches, volunteers, and/or observers.

The TFL reserves all rights to subject violators to the full range of sanctions, up to and including removal from the tournament premises and referral to appropriate authorities. Any individual, or group of individuals, who believes they have been a victim of harassment and/or discrimination should reportit to the Tournament Director or appropriate authority immediately.

In order to file an equity concern, please fill out this form.


Dear Colleagues,

The Tarheel Forensic League would like to invite all member schools to the 2024 TFL State Championship to be held March 3rd and 4th at Cumberland Polytechnic HS in Fayetteville, North Carolina. This tournament will be in-person.

The tournament will be be co-hosted by Massey Hill Classical HS on Saturday. We are tentatively holding speech and congress preliminary rounds at that site on Saturday only. The Committee will have more guidance by February 19th.

Events at this year’s in-person state tournament will be:
Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Public Forum Debate, Congressional Debate, Original Oratory, Extemporaneous Speaking, Dramatic Interpretation, Humorous Interpretation, Duo-Interpretation, Program Oral Interpretation, Impromptu Speaking, Informative Speaking, and Declamation (9th and 10th grades only). This year students may triple enter between speech events. We will not be able to allow double or triple entry between debate events and speech events.

Students in Open divisions will need to qualify for this tournament through a bid process. Learn more about that at this link. Instructions on how to enter your qualification bids on Tabroom are available at this link.

A JV division will be offered in LD, PF and Congress. The JV division of these events is open to any student in their first two years of competition with no bid qualification required. There is no qualification needed for JV divisions.

There is also no qualification needed for Declamation, but it is limited to 9th and 10th graders.

Please note that we will be using the MARCH/APRIL Lincoln-Douglas topic and the MARCH Public Forum topic.

Please be sure to review all pages in the right hand column on our registration website. Most of the information you need can be found in the TFL Tournament Manual. All new changes for this year will be highlighted in yellow throughout the manual. We will post announcements and updates on this website, so be sure to check back regularly.

PLEASE NOTE OUR IMPORTANT SUPERVISION RULE: At minimum, the Head Coach of Record must be present with his or her school for the entire duration of the tournament. If anyone other than the official head coach will be supervising the team, the school must present the TFL Executive Committee a letter to that effect signed by both the head coach and school principal. If any team is found at any time without the coach of record or officially approved adult chaperone on campus during tournament hours, the entire school will be disqualified from the tournament and a letter will be written to the school principal. All teams must be supervised at all times while they are on the host campus.

If at any time you have questions regarding this tournament or if there is anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact TFL Chair, Crawford Leavoy (crawford.leavoy@da.org) at your earliest convenience.

Crawford Leavoy (Durham Academy) - Chair
Keith Pittman (Asheville HS) - Vice Chair & Bidkeeper
Megan Butt (Charlotte Latin) - Treasurer
Scott Bennett (Northwest Guilford HS) - Secretary
Ben Denton (Pinecrest HS) - Historian
Lynne Coyne (Myers Park HS) - Bidkeeper
Michelle Boswell (Cumberland Polytechnic HS) - Tournament Host
Michael Bischoff (North Mecklenburg HS)
J Patrick Moss (East Rutherford HS & Chase HS)
Thomas Surber (Mountain Heritage HS) - Alternate Member
Angela Segarra (Cuthbertson HS) - Alternate Member