Western States All Stars

2022 — Laramie, WY/US

The Western States All Stars is a policy Round Robin for teams from the Greater Mountain West region. We invited teams from nine states to apply: Colorado, the Dakotas, Idaho, New Mexico, Montana, Nebraska, Utah, and Wyoming. The application process is now closed, but if you are interested in being an alternate, please reach out to Matt Liu (mliu6@uwyo.edu). Applications from outside the Greater Mountain West will be considered for alternates.


*10 minutes prep*


The following teams accepted invitations to the 2022 Western States All Stars:

Charles Herbert Flowers High School BM

Corner Canyon AH

Laramie GY

Mount Vernon KR

Riverton BM

West SS



Structure: based on entries and to maximize participation, we have lifted the "two entries per state" cap. There will be one pod of 7 teams. The tournament will be hosted on Zoom using the ZRM model.

No fees and no judging obligation: we will provide fantastic judging for every round. Tab will be run by Nick Ryan (Assistant Director of Debate, Liberty University). Pairings will be released in advance to encourage significant preparation, in-depth research, and argument innovation.


All teams agreed to provide disclosure of affs they have read as well as common negative arguments they have already read. On the day of the tournament, we expect the aff to disclose what the aff will be 1 hour before the start of the first round of the day (disclosure is expected immediately after the end of the previous round for subsequent rounds). Of course, disclosure is only required for arguments that a school has already read. We fully expect and encourage teams to break new arguments to catch their opponents off guard.


We will be awarding silver bowls to the champion, finalist, and 3rd place teams, as well as plaques for the top three speakers. In addition, the tournament champion is awarded our custom-made traveling trophy, a cast bronze sculpture of the Teton Range.


Schedule (all times in Mountain Time)

Friday 4/29

Round 1: 12:30pm

Round 2: 3:00pm

Round 3: 6:30pm


Saturday 4/30

Round 4: 8:00am

Round 5: 11:30am

Round 6: 2:00pm

Round 7: 5:30pm

Awards to follow round 7


Please direct any questions to:

Matt Liu, University of Wyoming Director of Debate