Rollin G Osterweis 2021

2021 — NSDA Campus, CT/US

The link for the General Assembly Zoom meeting is: 

We will post motions, schedule updates and any announcements on this google doc:  Please keep this page pinned!


From all schools, we will need two submissions: (1) forms for the school and all competitors (details in the submission portal) and (2) an address to send commemorative stickers and trophies to. Please fill these out at your earliest convenience; on April 6th by the latest. Thank you! 

• Forms Submission

• Address Submission


To the Debate Community of Connecticut,

The Yale Debate Association is pleased to invite you to attend the 39th Annual Rollin G. Osterweis Debate Tournament on Sunday, April 11, 2021.

For those of you unfamiliar with the tournament, the Osterweis is a free tournament for Connecticut high school students to experience the collegiate style of parliamentary debate. The Osterweis will feature both a novice and varsity division. Novice participants should be debaters in their first year of high school debate, and not above sophomore year.

Novice participants will have the opportunity to learn about parliamentary procedure in the morning with a demonstration round, and then debate with a partner for 3 preliminary rounds, before breaking to semifinals and a final round. Varsity teams will compete in 4 preliminary rounds, breaking to semifinals and finals. Debates will focus on issues familiar to the average student, including American and international politics, ethics, and justice. Yale debaters will judge and offer feedback. Awards will be given to the top varsity and top novice teams and speakers.

Further details can be found in the invitation which is posted to the right of the page.  You will also find two other documents: the Parli Style Guide from this past Fall's Yale Invitational which explains the debate format; the Osterweis Scoring Rubric which explains the point scale and judging criteria (the college scoring is a bit different from most high school tournament).

Please email us if you have further questions.  We look forward to seeing you on April 11!


Michael Ning and Shi Wen Yeo, 

Tournament Directors