Grapevine Classic

2020 — Online, US



Tournament Awards Ceremony Link

32nd Annual Grapevine Classic Awards Ceremony 


 32nd Annual Grapevine Classic Speech and Debate Tournament

A NSDA Campus Online Tournament

(817) 251-5248

August 01, 2020


Dear Colleagues,

Please accept this as your personal invitation to attend the 32nd Annual Grapevine Classic TFA, TOC, and NIETOC qualifier to be held September 11-13, 2020 online through the NSDA Campus Platform.

We are excited about the schedule of events, level of competition, quality judging and unique opportunities provided this year. We hope you can participate!

We are happy to offer all the TFA events including World Schools Debate.  We are hoping the Grapevine Classic will reach friends in both the United States and abroad! 

As well, this year we have added a Junior Varsity division for Policy, Lincoln Douglas, and Public Forum debate. To qualify for Junior Varsity, a student must have a limit of one year of participation in debate in any event. 

Please note that The Grapevine Classic is a Quarter-Finals qualifier for the National Tournament of Champions (TOC) in Policy, Public Forum, Lincoln Douglas Debate, and a Top 6 qualifier in Congress.  Debate will have 5 preliminary rounds before going into the required elimination rounds depending on entries. IEs are entirely on Saturday. 

All IEs will be asynchronous EXCEPT for extemporaneous.

We do not accept independent entries.  A school coach or adult must enter students to the Grapevine Classic.  A school authorized adult must be in attendance at all times at the Grapevine Classic.

This year, we continue to have one of the best Tabrooms in the country with Dave Huston, Jason Sykes, Eric Melin, Jennifer Melin, Brian Manuel, and Jane Boyd.

Finally, please remember to nominate a Senior Debater for the Jonathan Brody Service to Debate Award given since 1997.  Information is included on this site. Nominations are due on Thursday, September 3 by 4:30 pm. We are proud that Jon's parents continue awarding a scholarship to the Brody Award Winner each year.


Stormee Massey, Director of Debate,


*Updated 8/13