The Princeton Classic

2020 — NSDA Campus, NJ/US

Dear Forensics Coach,

On behalf of the Princeton Debate Panel, it is our pleasure to invite you and your forensics team to the 2020 Princeton Classic, to be hosted by Princeton University from Friday, December 4th, 2020 to Sunday, December 6th, 2020. The tournament will be conducted online using NSDA Campus.

The tournament will consist of competition in Varsity, JV and Novice Lincoln-Douglas and Public Forum Debate, Congressional Debate, and eight Speech events. We offer five prelim rounds in Individual Events, seven in Varsity Public Forum, six prelim rounds in LD and the other PF divisions, and three sessions in Congress. Semifinalists in Varsity LD, octafinalists in PF, elimination round participants in IE and Extemp, and finalists in Congress will earn a bid to their respective Tournament of Champions.

Joining us this year as Tab Director is Jim Menick, who will also run LD tab with Sheryl Kaczmarek of Lexington (MA) and Crawford Leavoy of Durham (NC). Tim Huth of Bronx Science (NY), Carol Cecil of Braddock (FL) and Jeff Kahn of Strath Haven (PA) will direct Public Forum tab; Brother John McGrory of Chaminade (NY), Frank Riccobono, Jeremy Norris and Charlie Sloat of the NYC CFL will oversee Congress tab; and Cory Clark of Gwynedd Mercy Academy High School (PA), Joe Vaughan of Scarsdale (NY), and Lydia Esslinger of Syosset (NY) will run Speech tab.

To make this process as fair as possible, we will place all registered entries on the waitlist which we will clear two weeks after registration opens. Schools with outstanding balances from last year will not be accepted into the tournament.

Our full invitation (seen at right) should answer any questions you may have about the tournament; please take the time to read it in its entirety, since some things have changed from previous years. If you need any additional information, please email us at We hope your school year and forensics season are off to a great start and we look forward to seeing you all virtually this December!

Best wishes, 

Emily Dale, Ryan Jiang, Natalia Zorrilla

Tournament Directors