Tarheel Forensic League State Championship

2020 — Southern Pines, NC/US


Due to the nationwide threat of the Covid-19 virus, the Governor's state of emergency and the increasing number of teams being prohibited from traveling, the TFL Executive Committee has made the difficult decision to indefinitely postpone the 2020 TFL State Tournament at Pinecrest.

The indefinite postponement leaves TFL the option of rescheduling before the end of the school year if the viral threat subsides, although no specific reschedule date has currently been proposed or considered.

Should this tournament be rescheduled, an email will be sent to all coaches and an update will be posted on this website.





NOTE:   Registration for this tournament is open ONLY to head coaches of record at the TFL member school.  Your registration request must be approved by the tournament director.  Students or parents may not register teams.
Please make sure that the faculty coach of record for your school is registering for this tournament.  It will be checked against TFL records before you are allowed to complete the registration process.


Dear Colleagues,

The Tarheel Forensic League would like to invite all member schools to the 2020 TFL State Championship to be held March 28-29 at Pinecrest High school in Southern Pines.  The nearby middle school will also be used if entry numbers exceed the capacity of Pinecrest.

Events at this year’s tournament will be:  Varsity and JV Lincoln-Douglas, Varsity and JV Public Forum Debate, Varsity and JV Congressional Debate, Original Oratory, Extemporaneous Speaking, Dramatic Interpretation, Humorous Interpretation, Duo-Interpretation, Program Oral Interpretation, Impromptu Speaking, Informative Speaking, and Declamation (9th and 10th grades only).  Students may double enter between most speech events. We will not be able to allow double entry between debate events and speech events.

This year, students in Open and Varsity divisions will need to qualify for this tournament through a bid process.  Learn more about that at this link.  Instructions on how to enter your qualification bids on Tabroom are available at this link.

Please note that we will be using the MARCH/APRIL Lincoln-Douglas topic and the MARCH Public Forum topic.

Please be sure to review all pages in the right hand column on our registration website.  Most of the information you need can be found in the TFL Tournament Manual. All new changes for this year will be highlighted in yellow throughout the manual.  We will post announcements and updates on this website, so be sure to check back regularly.  We recommend registering as early as possible.  As we get closer to the tournament date, it is very likely that we will begin exceeding the room capacity and we will have to apply entry limits or close certain events altogether.  

PLEASE NOTE OUR IMPORTANT SUPERVISION RULE (taken from page 3 of the TFL Tournament Manual): At minimum, the Head Coach of Record must be present with his or her school for the entire duration of the tournament.  If anyone other than the official head coach will be supervising the team, the school must present the TFL Executive Committee a letter to that effect signed by both the head coach and school principal. If any team is found at any time without the coach of record or officially approved adult chaperone on campus during tournament hours, the entire school will be disqualified from the tournament and a letter will be written to the school principal. All teams must be supervised at all times while they are on the host campus.

If at any time you have questions regarding this tournament or if there is anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact TFL Chair Keith Pittman (keith.pittman@asheville.k12.nc.us) at your earliest convenience.



Keith Pittman (Asheville/SILSA), Tarheel Forensic League Chair

Shannon Jarman (Cumberland International), TFL Vice Chair

Jeff Welty (Durham Academy), TFL Secretary

Michelle Boswell (Cumberland Polytechnic), TFL Committee Member

Megan Butt (Providence), TFL Committee Member

Chris Harrow (Ardrey Kell), TFL Committee Member

Deb Henderson (Jack Britt), TFL Committee Member

Jonathan Peele (Charlotte Latin), TFL Committee Member

Joshua Wade (Croatan), TFL Committee Member