The Princeton Classic

2019 — Princeton, NJ/US

Dear Forensics Coach,


On behalf of the Princeton Debate Panel, it is our pleasure to invite you and your forensics team to the 2019 Princeton Classic, to be held at Princeton University from Friday, December 6th, 2019 to Sunday, December 8th, 2019.


The tournament will consist of competition in Varsity and Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Open Public Forum Debate, Congressional Debate, and six Speech events. We offer five prelim rounds in Individual Events, six prelim rounds in LD, seven in Public Forum, and three sessions in Congress. Semi-finalists in Varsity LD, octafinalists in PF, elimination round participants in IE and Extemp, and finalists in Congress will earn a bid to their respective Tournament of Champions.


Joining us this year as Tab Director is Jim Menick, who will also run LD tab with Sheryl Kaczmarek of Lexington (MA). Additionally, Dario Camara of Western (FL) and Carol Cecil of Braddock (FL) will direct Public Forum tab; Brother John McGrory of Chaminade (NY) and John Cierpial of Union Catholic (NJ) will oversee Congress tab; and Joe Vaughan of Scarsdale (NY), and Lydia Esslinger of Syosset (NY) will run Speech tab.


To make this process as fair as possible, we will place all registered entries on the waitlist which we will clear two weeks after registration opens. Every eligible school will be initially awarded an equal number of slots determined based on our available space. This means that we are not operating on a first come, first served basis. Schools with outstanding balances from last year will not accepted into the tournament.

This invitation should answer any questions you may have about the tournament; please take the time to read it in its entirety, since some things have changed from previous years. If you need any additional information, please email us at


We hope your school year and forensics season are off to a great start and we look forward to seeing you all in Princeton this December!


Best wishes, 

Ben Dodge, Daniel Ju, Terrell Seabrooks

Tournament Directors