Apple Valley MinneApple Debate

2019 — Apple Valley, MN/US

 The 34th Annual    

MinneApple Debate Tournament 
November 8-9, 2019

Sponsored by the Apple Valley High School Team, Apple Valley Speech & Debate Alumni Foundation, and American Legion Post 1776   


On behalf of the Apple Valley Team, Apple Valley Speech & Debate Alumni Foundation, and the Apple Valley American Legion Post 1776, we would like to invite you and your team to attend the 34th annual MinneApple Debate Tournament on November 8th and 9th. Last year, nearly 1,000 competitors, coaches, and judges from 98 schools and 24 states joined us. The MinneApple is proud to offer Lincoln Douglas Debate, Public Forum Debate, and Congressional Debate. Our commitment to providing an efficient tournament with great hospitality, strong competition, and superior judging has made it one of the largest debate tournaments in the nation. We would be honored to have you be a part of this event. Our awards will once again feature the red marble apple. 


The MinneApple is a Tournament of Champions qualifier at the OCTAFINAL level in LD, the OCTAFINAL level in Public Forum, and a Tier 2 level bid in Congressional Debate (top 16). We offer three divisions of LD, varsity and novice divisions in Public Forum, and an open division of Congressional Debate. In addition, we will also be offering the 6th Annual MinneApple Round Robin in Varsity LD Debate to be held Sunday, November 10th. We offer mutual judge preference in varsity LD debate and judge strikes in varsity PF debate.  


All LD and PF divisions will have six preliminary rounds.  In varsity LD and PF and all students with 4-2 records will be eligible to compete in partial triple octafinals. Students, coaches, and judges will be provided with a complimentary Friday dinner and Saturday lunch. 


Our tabroom staff will include Adam Jacobi (CD), Chris Palmer, Greg Malis, SunHee Simon, and Chris Theis. 


Please note that this year the arrangement of divisions by building will be changing. Building assignments will be as follows: 

Apple Valley High School (AVHS): VPF, NPF, CD

Falcon Ridge Middle School (FRMS): VLD

Valley Middle School (VMS): JVLD, NLD


We look forward to seeing you at the MinneApple!




Chris Theis

Tournament Director 


Pam Cady Wycoff

Tournament Director Emeritus 


Colin Goodson

Administrative Director 


Scott Voss

Director of Debate