2020 — Washington HS, Fremont, CA/US

NorCal Champs have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We are planning on bringing them back in 2021.

*   *   *

The National Parliamentary Debate League is excited to announce the First Annual Northern California Parliamentary Debate Championship!


Short URL 

May 16-17th

Tentative Location
Washington High School (Fremont)

Steering Committee
In 2020, its pilot year, NorCal Champs will be run by the Steering Committee:
Mariel Cruz (director of forensics at Notre Dame High School)
James Gooler-Rogers (director of forensics at Evergreen Valley High School)
Sam Timinsky (director of parliamentary debate at the Nueva School).

In subsequent years, NorCal Champs will be run by the Northern California Parliamentary Debate League. All NPDL representatives of member schools located in Northern California will automatically count as NCPDL representatives. NCPDL rules for future years will be adopted at a meeting of representatives held on the second day of NorCal Champs.

Each NPDL member school located in Northern California will be granted 2 entries, selected by the head coach.
In addition, a school may enter up to 1 wildcard entry. A wildcard team consists of two students who have both advanced to elimination rounds at the 2020 NPDL-TOC.
The students entered by the school must attend that school.
All students must be registered under their school or designated as “[SCHOOL NAME] Independent”.

Every preliminary round will be judged by 2 judges.
Therefore, if a school has 1-2 entries, it must provide 1 judge.
If a school has 3 entries, it must provide 2 judges.
A qualified judge:
- must be a high school graduate
- must be debate coach or have competed in the varsity division of high school or college debate
- must have previously judged the varsity division of at least two high school debate tournaments

$110 entry fee
$125 judge fee per uncovered entry
If you school cannot afford the fees, please email to request a fee waiver.

Tab Director: Mariel Cruz
Topic Committee: Isabella Riezler, Zach Moss, Ben Shahar
Equity Officer: Sierra Maciorowski-Hribar

Tentative Schedule

  Start End of Prep End Day
Registration 8:15 AM   8:45 AM Saturday
Round 1A 9:00 AM 9:20 AM 10:20 AM Saturday
Round 1B 10:00 AM 10:20 AM 11:20 AM Saturday
Round 2A 11:20 AM 11:40 AM 12:40 PM Saturday
Round 2B 12:20 PM 12:40 PM 1:40 PM Saturday
Lunch 1:40 PM   2:20 AM Saturday
Round 3A 2:20 PM 2:40 PM 3:40 PM Saturday
Round 3B 3:20 PM 3:40 PM 4:40 PM Saturday
Round 4A 4:40 PM 5:00 PM 6:00 PM Saturday
Round 4B 5:40 PM 6:00 PM 7:00 PM Saturday
Round 5A 9:00 AM 9:20 AM 10:20 AM Sunday
Round 5B 10:00 AM 10:20 AM 11:20 AM Sunday
League Meeting/Lunch 11:20 AM   1:20 PM Sunday
Octas 1:20 PM 1:40 PM 2:50 PM Sunday
Break 2:50 PM   3:10 PM Sunday
Quarters 3:10PM 3:30 PM 4:40 PM Sunday
Semis 4:40 PM 5:00 PM 6:10 PM Sunday
Finals 6:10 PM 6:30 PM 7:40 PM Sunday